Arizona State University California Center (Los Angeles) via Kaplan: Creative Programs, Costs & Pathways Guide for International Students
Written by Readystudyfly Editorial Team
Published 21 Sep 2026 · Updated 28 Oct 2026
The ASU California Center is Arizona State University's campus in downtown Los Angeles, about 30 minutes from LAX, and it specialises in creative fields: fashion through the ASU Fashion Institute of Design and Merchandising, design through The Design School, film through the Sidney Poitier New American Film School, and journalism and media through the Walter Cronkite School of Journalism and Mass Communication. International students can apply through Kaplan International Pathways, which provides application support at no extra cost, including an application fee waiver, extended deadlines, and help with transcripts, personal statements, English scores, and visas. The center is small, with about 130 full-time students. This guide covers exactly what ASU California Center international students need to know: the programs, the pathway option, English and admission requirements, the costs to confirm, scholarships, life in Los Angeles, and US Optional Practical Training.
Quick facts snapshot
- Institution: the ASU California Center in downtown Los Angeles, part of Arizona State University, with application support from Kaplan
- Students: about 130 full-time students
- Programs: ASU FIDM fashion undergraduate programs, The Design School undergraduate degrees, the Sidney Poitier New American Film School undergraduate and graduate programs, and Walter Cronkite School graduate programs
- Recognition: the Walter Cronkite School is described as the number one journalism school in the USA by the Broadcast Education Association's 2024 rankings
- Pathway: ASU-USA Pathways is available through Kaplan for students who need to raise their GPA or English
- Scholarship: a $2,000 renewable scholarship for undergraduates for fall 2025
- Facilities: industry-grade equipment including virtual reality technology and editing studios, and housing described as resort-style apartments with 24-hour security and free evening ride shares
- Costs and English requirements: not stated on the pages I could read
Rankings and reputation
The California Center is part of Arizona State University, so overall rankings apply to ASU, while the center's programs draw on the reputations of ASU's film, design, fashion, and journalism schools. The Cronkite School's number one ranking comes from a specific list, the Broadcast Education Association's 2024 rankings, so treat it as one measure among several. Because the center is small and specialised, the most useful evidence for applicants is graduate portfolios, industry placements, faculty credentials, and how many alumni work in Los Angeles's creative industries.
Academics and how the programs work
Undergraduates can study fashion (with ASU FIDM), design, and film, and graduate students can study film and journalism and media. The center emphasises hands-on production and studio work, close to the city's film, fashion, and media industries, and students use industry-grade equipment. Kaplan's ASU-USA Pathways program lets students who need a higher GPA or better English start earning ASU credits first, in a program with up to 26 transferable credits, and it offers guaranteed progression to selected majors, but you should confirm whether pathway students can progress into California Center majors and where pathway classes are held.
Admissions and international eligibility
The center does not publish an acceptance rate. Creative programs often require a portfolio, a personal statement, or a writing sample, along with transcripts and English evidence. Applicants receive an I-20 for an F-1 visa. Kaplan can help with the process, but admission decisions are made by ASU.
English language requirements
- English requirements were not stated on the California Center page
- The related ASU-USA Pathways program lists a minimum TOEFL of 55 for the pathway, with conditional admission for lower scores
- Direct entry to an ASU degree requires higher scores, so ask for the exact requirement for your program
- Ask what happens if you need English preparation before starting
Application checklist
A typical application includes transcripts, English evidence, a portfolio or statement for creative programs, and proof of funds for the I-20. Kaplan says applying through it costs nothing extra and includes an application fee waiver and extended deadlines, so ask what deadlines apply to your intake.
Tuition, living costs, and scholarships
The pages I could read listed a $2,000 renewable scholarship for undergraduates for fall 2025 but no tuition figures, and pointed to a tuition and dates page. Because Los Angeles is among the most expensive US cities, ask for a written estimate of tuition, housing, insurance, equipment, and materials for your program. Film and fashion programs often carry extra costs for equipment, production, and materials, so ask what is included.
Estimated living costs in Los Angeles
- Los Angeles is one of the most expensive US cities for housing, and downtown rents are high
- The center's housing is described as resort-style apartments with key-card entry and 24-hour security
- F-1 applicants must show proof of funds covering at least a year of costs
- F-1 rules restrict off-campus work, so plan for little income while studying
- The center provides free evening ride shares to housing, and the city has metro and bus services
Scholarships
The California Center lists a renewable $2,000 undergraduate scholarship for fall 2025. That is small relative to likely costs, so ask which other awards apply to international students, whether pathway students qualify, and what grades keep them. Third-party sources report ASU merit scholarships on the Tempe campus that may not apply to Los Angeles.
Campus life and student support
With about 130 full-time students, the center is small, so classes are small and staff are close. It sits in downtown Los Angeles near museums, cultural venues, and the entertainment industry, and students can network with professionals. A small campus has fewer clubs and facilities than ASU's large Arizona campuses, so ask how students access broader ASU services.
Career outcomes and post-study work rights
Los Angeles is the centre of the US film and television industry, and a large fashion and media hub, so students can build local networks and portfolios. Creative fields are competitive and often project-based, and work authorisation for international graduates is limited. Ask for recent graduate outcomes, internship opportunities, and how the center supports international students.
US Optional Practical Training
After completing a US degree, F-1 graduates can apply for Optional Practical Training, which allows up to 12 months of work related to their field, extendable by 24 months for STEM-designated programs. Many film, fashion, and journalism programs are not STEM-designated, so the extension may not apply. OPT is tied to the degree, so time on a pathway alone does not create post-study work rights. Confirm your program's STEM status with the international office.
Health insurance and pre-arrival preparation
International students on F-1 visas are generally required to carry health insurance meeting the university's standards. Budget for the SEVIS I-901 fee, the visa fee, and flights, and prepare for a visa interview, whose waiting times vary by country.
What to expect in your first months
The first weeks involve orientation, English placement if needed, and learning how US studio and production classes work, with regular critiques and deadlines. Students who use advising early tend to settle faster.
A realistic budget
Because tuition was not listed, obtain a written estimate for your full program and add Los Angeles housing, equipment, insurance, and personal costs. Compare it with ASU's Tempe campus, where living costs are lower, if your program is available there.
Questions to ask before you accept an offer
- What is the total cost of my program, including housing, equipment, and insurance?
- Can pathway students progress into California Center programs?
- What portfolio or writing requirements apply to my program?
- Which scholarships apply to international students?
- Is my program STEM-designated for OPT?
- What internship and industry opportunities are there for international students?
Who the California Center suits best
The California Center suits students who want a hands-on film, fashion, design, or media degree in Los Angeles with the ASU name and small classes, and who can fund a high-cost program. It may suit less well students on a tight budget, those who want a large campus, or those who need STEM-based post-study work rights.
Los Angeles or Tempe?
The California Center offers proximity to the creative industries in a small campus, while Tempe offers a large campus, lower living costs, and a much wider range of majors. If your program is available in both places, compare the cost, the industry access, and your visa plans.
Step-by-step application roadmap
- Choose your program and confirm whether it runs at the California Center.
- Prepare your portfolio or writing sample and check the English requirement.
- Apply through Kaplan with transcripts and passport details.
- Accept your offer, pay any deposit, and receive your I-20.
- Apply for your F-1 visa and prepare for the interview.
- Arrange travel and housing, and attend orientation.
Preparing your documents early
Order certified transcripts and translations, prepare your portfolio, and arrange financial documents. Keep written confirmation of costs, credits, and progression terms.
Working in the creative industries as an international graduate
Creative careers in film, fashion, and media often rely on short projects and internships, and international graduates need work authorisation for each of them. Ask the center how many international graduates find OPT-eligible work, how the career team supports visa questions, and whether alumni can share their experiences.
Frequently asked questions
What does the ASU California Center offer?
How many students study at the ASU California Center?
Does Kaplan charge extra for applying?
Is there a scholarship?
Can I work in the US after graduating?
Readystudyfly Editorial Team
Editorial Team
Guides researched and drafted by our editorial team, published on a daily schedule.
Comments (0)
Be the first to comment.